INNOVATION July-August 2015

n ewsmaker s

The Architectural Institute of British Columbia has conferred the status of Honorary Member on Bogue Babicki, P.Eng. Honorary membership recognizes “individuals who have made an especially noteworthy contribution to the profession of architecture in British Columbia.” Born in Warsaw, Poland, Babicki arrived in Canada in

AIBC Confers Honorary Membership on BC Engineer

1958 and proceeded to establish a successful structural engineer- ing practice. An engineer who considers both the technical and aesthetic implications of his work, Babicki has enjoyed close working relationships with leading architects such as Arthur Erickson, Bruno Freschi and Rand Iredale. Babicki has worked on an im- pressive portfolio of architectural structures, including Robson Square, Vancouver Law Courts, UBC Thunderbird Stadium, Museum of Anthropology, the original Westcoast Transmission Building, Jamatkhana Ismaili Mosque, and the Expo 86 Preview Centre (now Science World).


Honourary AIBC member Bogue Babicki, P.Eng.

Photo credit: Mina Radivojevic, AIBC

NEW APPOINTMENT BCIT is pleased to announce the appointment of Jennie Moore to the position of Associate Dean, Building Design and Construction Technology within the School of Construction and the Environment. Jennie previously held the role of Director of Sustainable Development and Environmental Stewardship at BCIT for nine years. In that position, Jennie facilitated the development of new programs to meet the needs of BC’s green economy and she continues to help transform BCIT’s campuses into living laboratories of sustainability. Jennie’s work has received international acclaim and won multiple awards. She created the Regional and Local Government Working Group on Climate Change, is a LEED Accredited Professional, and is a member of the Canadian Institute of Planners.

Babicki was recognized by the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1980 when he became the first engineer to be elected to the organi- zation. Babicki holds a Doctor of Science degree from the Warsaw University of Technology.


Sina Abadzadesahraei, UNBC Matt Bodnar, UBC Aimee Gegolick, UofA Justin Granek, UBC Nicholas Harrichhausen, McGill Rachel Kim, UBC Siobhan McGoldrick, UVic Donald Prenoslo, UofA Shane Rich, UBC Sandra Rosset, UBC

Geoscience BC scholarships are awarded annually to earth science post-graduate students working on a project relevant to mineral or energy exploration or development in British Columbia.

Innovation: July/August 2015 4.625”W x 3.75” H Geoscience BC Tech:

J U LY/AU G U S T 2 015 1 Ad Name: Announcement - Jennie Moore 2 Media: Innovation (APEGBC) 3 PO#: A2015-0021


i n n o v a t i o n

Made with FlippingBook - professional solution for displaying marketing and sales documents online