INNOVATION May-June 2015

as soc ia t i on notes

2015/2016 Candidates for Election to Council In accordance with Bylaw 3 of the association, notice is hereby given of the nom- inees for the 2015/2016 Council of APEGBC. The 2015 Nominating Committee selected the following nominees: Discipline Branch Presidential Candidate M.C. (Michael) Wrinch, P.Eng., FEC Electrical Sea to Sky or limited licensee may be nominated to stand for Council election: 1) by the Nominating Committee or 2) in writing by any 25 or more members and/or limited licensees in good standing. Councillors (five to be elected) C.L. (Cassandra) Hall, P.Eng./P.Geo. Geological/Geology Sea-to-Sky D.I. (David) Harvey, P.Eng, Struct. Eng., FEC Structural Richmond/Delta M.A. (Mark) Jenkins, P.Eng. Mechanical Peace River P.B.P. (Philippe) Kruchten, P.Eng., FEC Software Vancouver S.J. (Scott) Martin, P.Eng. Geological Okanagan B.P. (Brian) Menounos, P.Geo. Geology Central Interior L.D. (Lee) Rowley, P.Eng. Civil Vancouver Island K.V. (Kathy) Tarnai-Lokhorst, P.Eng., FEC Mechanical Victoria J.T. (Thomas) Tiedje, P.Eng. Electrical Victoria Nomination by 25 Members Members are reminded that nominations for President, Vice President and Councillor may also be made in writing by any 25 or more members or limited licensees in good standing. Such nominations, signed by members and/or limited licensees making the nomination and accompanied by the written consent of the nominee, must be received by the Registrar at the association office no later than 5:00 pm, Friday, June 26, 2015. The form for nomination by 25 members is available online at Our-Team/Council/Council-Election-Call-for-Nominations or by contacting Nicole Salvian at or 604.412.6055. Role of the Nominating Committee The Nominating Committee is charged with seeking and selecting a slate of candidates for election to Council that they believe best demonstrate the qualities needed for strong leadership of the association. Specifically, the committee sought candidates that have demonstrated skills in strategic thinking, organizational management, financial fluency, governance and strategic planning, in addition to a minimum of five years of experience as a professional member or limited licensee. To fulfil its mandate, the committee sought candidates through a series of Call for Nominations notices sent to the membership, and committee members reached out to potential candidates in regions throughout BC. 2015/2016 Council Election In accordance with APEGBC’s Bylaw 3, there are two ways by which a member Vice Presidential Candidates (one to be elected) G.D. (Garth) Kirkham, P.Geo., FGC Geology Burnaby/NewWestminster R.P. (Bob) Stewart, P.Eng. Electrical Vancouver

Under Bylaw 3(b), candidates for the office of President must have served on Council for at least two full years prior to taking office, and for the office of Vice President, must have served at least one year on Council prior to taking office in order to qualify as a Nominating Committee candidate. Previous experience on Council is not required for write-in candidates. Important Dates Friday, June 26, 2015 Nominations by 25 members must be received at the association office by 5:00 pm. Friday July 10, 2015 Nominees’ Statement of Candidacy must be received at the association office by 5:00 pm. Friday, September 4, 2015 Election package and ballots will be available online to all members by this date. Paper ballots available upon request. Friday, October 2, 2015 All ballots must be submitted and received by 12 pm. Election results will be posted to the APEGBC website by Wednesday, October 7, 2015. 2015 Nominating Committee Michael Bapty, P.Eng., FEC , FGC (Hon) – Past President, Chair Branch Appointees Mohsen Barkh, P.Eng. – Richmond/ Delta Branch Eric Constantinescu, P.Eng. – Northern Branch Piotr Mazur, P.Eng. – Sea to Sky Branch Minh Nguyen, P.Eng. – Burnaby/ New West Branch Eric Pettit, P.Eng. – Victoria Branch Ben Skillings, P.Eng. – Vancouver Branch Elroy Switlishoff, P.Eng. – West Kootenay Branch Andrew Watson, P.Eng., Struct.Eng. – South Central Branch Council Appointees Doug Barry, P.Eng Dick Fletcher, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon)

Catherine Hickson, P.Geo., FGC Michael Isaacson, P.Eng., FEC Chris Newcomb, P.Eng., FEC


M AY/ J U N E 2 015

i n n o v a t i o n

Made with FlippingBook - Online magazine maker