INNOVATION November-December 2013

Moved by John Haythorne, P.Eng., FEC, and seconded by Paul Blanchard, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.). The motion was carried. Following the motions session, President Isaascon introduced the

incoming president for the 2013/2014 Council year, Mr. Michael Bapty, P.Eng., FEC. The newly appointed President Bapty then presented the Gold Foil Life Member disc to now Past President

Michael Isaacson, thanking him for his committed work on behalf of APEGBC during his past year in office.

new s

(l) Alina Cheng, P.Eng., accepts the APEGBC 2013 Editorial Board Award. (r) Bryan W. Robinson, P.Eng., accepts the APEGBC Mentor of the Year Award.

APEGBC Honours Members with Mentoring and Editorial Board Awards APEGBC’s newMentor of the Year Award recognizes excellence amongst mentors in the engineering and geoscience community in British Columbia. Outstanding mentors from any of the different disciplines are eligible for this award.

Author Alina Cheng, P.Eng., received the APEGBC 2013 Editorial Board Award for her article “Vancouver’s Pedestrian Safety Study and Action Plan” in the November/December 2012 issue of Innovation . The article provides an overview of the City of Vancouver’s first ever city-wide pedestrian safety study, which includes information about traffic and pedestrian collisions in Vancouver, and highlights the City’s collaborative efforts to improve pedestrian safety.

Bryan W. Robinson, P.Eng., has been a dedicated member of the APEGBC mentoring program for the past five years, giving much of his spare time to provide guidance and advice to his mentee.


Nov e m b e r /D e c e m b e r 2 013

i n n o v a t i o n

Made with FlippingBook - Online catalogs